A Family Heirloom

As most of you know, my parents put my childhood home on the market almost a year ago and moved into their gorgeous little townhouse. Downsizing meant they had to scale down on their furniture and fortunately for us, we’ll inherit a few pieces as soon as the house sells. 🙂 

My love for antiques was undoubtedly inherited from my mother. One of our favorite pieces is an antique piano from the late 1800s. My mother purchased it years ago and I’ve always loved and admired it. After my parents moved, the piano took up a temporary residence at my grandmother’s house. My 87 year-old grandmother (whom I love dearly) has never had a problem speaking her mind. My mother often says “She’ll tell you how the cow ate the cabbage!”. Shortly after the piano was moved to her house, she started trying to convince my mother to sell it and even lined up a few eager buyers! Needless to say, my mother and I couldn’t bear the thought of selling such a treasure and a few weeks ago it was delivered to my house! It fits in our living room perfectly and will stay with us until mom and dad build their plantation home in the country. 🙂 It’s absolutely beautiful and we’re thrilled to have such an amazing heirloom in our house! 

Disregard the pictures…they were hung before the piano arrived and will have to be hung differently since the piano will block the doorway if we center it! 

 

The piano still has the original ivory keys (minus a couple that have broken over the years). Amazingly, the piano survived the war without being stripped of its original ivory keys. 

 

Unlike most modern pianos, the antique only features two pedals instead of the customary three. 

I just love all the ornate details and smile every time I walk through our front door! 

XOXO, 

Bri

2 thoughts on “A Family Heirloom

  1. I bet that piano could have gone for a ton of money, but some things you just can’t put a price on. You could ask someone to fix the keys for you. I know we had some keys on our piano a while back that were messed up and someone came and fixed them for us. In defense of your grandma we have been getting rid of everything too that makes us feel like we are too crazy crowded and we have been taking pickup and car loads full of things and just giving them away to goodwill, salvation army and places like that and we have had relatives ask why did you give that away, I gave you that or all of your kids slept in that baby bed, but when you are purging everything out of your home to make room to just live and all your kids don’t have room for any of it, that is what you have to do. Anyway I love your piano and love your home. I said something on one of your other pictures a while back, did you see it?

    • Thank you, Rhonda! I hope one day you and Laura can come stay with us! Mom and I would love to spend time with you! Hope all is well with you and your family. Mom said you were remodeling your basement for Laura. How exciting! I wish we could do some major work on our house…especially to the closets and kitchen! One day…hopefully!

Leave a Reply

